Bilstein Selected to Shrine Bowl Roster

LOI Riley Bilstein

West Holt’s Riley Bilstein has had a big couple of weeks.

Not long after his commitment to play football at Concordia University in Seward last week, Bilstein hit the winning free throw to help his Huskies claim the Niobrara Valley Conference Boys Championship. Now he is one of the few small school football players selected to the Shrine Bowl roster.

Husker Highlights


4 Former Huskers to Perform at NFL Combine…Riley Talks Defensive Line Coaching Search…Huskers Fall to Hot-Shooting Badgers…Big Ten Baseball Preseason Favorites, Players to Watch Named

Stuart Girls Top EPPJ For 3rd in NVC


  Nine three pointers were the “x-factor” for Stuart Saturday afternoon on their way to a 59-43 win over Elgin Public/Pope John. The Broncos scored the 3rd place NVC plaque with the win in the first game

Area Athletes Get In On National Signing Day


National Signing Day isn’t just for the Huskers in Nebraska! A lot of Nebraska (and out of state) colleges are getting their recruiting classes finished up, and we have several area athletes that will be going on to these schools to continue their playing careers as student-athletes. Check out who they are and where they are headed!

Mid-State Conference Basketball Brackets

The Mid-State Conference Tournament will kick off this weekend with two play in games before the main event begins Monday. Check out the brackets below. You can click on each bracket to make them bigger if you

Atkinson KC Free Throw Contest Winners


Front row left to right: Lainey Smith,9; Cadey Schaaf,10;Maci Nemetz,11; Landyn Mlady,12; Alexis Butterfield,13; Katelynn Ogden,14. Back row: Drake Nemetz,9; Caeden Lech,10; Weston Mathis,11; Dabe Alvarez-Price,12; Max Roberts,13. The annual Knights of Columbus Free Throw competition in Atkinson was held

Area Players Earn Fall Volleyball Honors


  The volleyball season wrapped up over a month ago, but we finally have all of the postseason honors divvied out. All-State honors were determined by both media and coaches, with statewide recognition coming from the Omaha