Today's Poll

Area Students To Participate in UNK Honor Band & Choral Clinic

KEARNEY – High school vocal and instrumental music students from 118 schools in Nebraska and Kansas have been selected to participate in the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Honor Band and Choral Clinic on Jan. 27.
The event includes 677 students and features three choirs and two bands, which rehearse all day before presenting a 6 p.m. concert at the UNK Health and Sports Center. Admission to the concert is $3. There is no admission charge for participants, music directors and preschool children.
“As the students rehearse the music during the day, they receive important music instruction about making music and proper performing techniques that they can take back with them to their schools,” said Clinic Director James Payne, UNK professor of music and performing arts.
The Honor Choir is directed by David Bauer, professor of music and UNK director of choirs. The Honor and Festival Bands are directed by Duane Bierman, assistant professor of music and UNK director of bands, and Brian Alber, music lecturer and UNK assistant director of bands.
The clinic also includes guest clinicians Leila Heil, assistant professor of music education at the University of Colorado at Boulder, and Leah Purdy, director of choirs at North Platte High School.
The Honor Band and Choral Clinic is open to sophomores, juniors and seniors who were selected through auditions. Those selected include:
Elgin Kaitlyn Polk choir
Elgin Madison Voborny choir
Elgin Pope John XXIII Casey Pelster choir
Elgin Pope John XXIII Taylor Knievel choir
Elkhorn Valley Anna Stineman band
Elkhorn Valley Chris Petersen choir
Elkhorn Valley Mackenzie Wiseman choir
Elkhorn Valley Michael Knievel choir
Elkhorn Valley Ranee Keehn choir
Elkhorn Valley Ryan Dusel choir
O'Neill Alexandra Strampher choir
O'Neill Aryn Curry choir
O'Neill Brooke Buller choir
O'Neill Marie Sitz choir
O'Neill Shea Lueninghoener choir
 O’Neill St. Mary's Deanna Tomjack choir
O’Neill St. Mary's Ellery Butterfield choir
Rock County Colin Erickson band
Rock County Daniel Mizner band
Rock County Kara Bruns choir
Rock County Paige Bruns choir
Rock County Tabitha Belmont choir
Wheeler Central Robyn Ita band
Wheeler Central Shelby Castor band

Call KBRX at (402) 336-1612